Four grand-final wins a Nelson Bay football success story

CHAMPIONS: Nelson Bay Football Club's over-35 grand-final winning team. See more photos at: Picture: Nelson Bay Football Club
CHAMPIONS: Nelson Bay Football Club's over-35 grand-final winning team. See more photos at: Picture: Nelson Bay Football Club

Nelson Bay Football Club enjoyed a very successful season in 2018, taking out four premierships and losing another three grand-finals including one in a penalty shoot-out.

Grand-final winning teams were the over-35s who scored a 3-0 victory over Kahibah; the 14/1 boys and girls sides who were both triumphant 1-0 over Lake Macquarie and Kahibah; and the All Age women with a 3-0 win over Kurri Kurri.

The 12/2s went down 5-4 in a penalty shoot-out to Dudley Redhead; the 13/1s lost 3-1 to Kotara South; and the 15/1s went down 2-1 to Cooks Hill.

Players were (over-35): Steven Baillache, Duncan Begley, Trent Chadwick, Jason Chilby, Jason Crowley, Steven Cuneo, Luke Erskine, John Graham, David Harasti, Andrew Kirk, Daniel MacKenzie, Edward Moloney, Timothy Nurcombe, Richard O'Brien, Jai Pyke and Matthew Smiles.

12/01: Lucas Bonser, Lucas Caines, Aaron Clayton, James Donovan, Oliver Gollan, Blake Hartas, Alfie Harvey, Jack Hodges, Finn Hurley, Jack Jolly, Eden Litten, Toby McGuiggan, Hayden Rose and Logan Wilks.

13/01: Harrison Biscan, Oliver Biscan, Iori Clarkson, Luke Donovan, Daniel Ermer, Lucas Kirin, Jay Leslie, Damon Perry, Baylen Potter, Joshua Price, Sukhvir Saini, Riley Shaw and Harry Webb. 

14 Boys: Zach Bonser, Ryan Bray, Flynn Chiarelli-Edmond, Jayden Corbett, Billy Diemar, Rohan Donnolley, Ethan Fairhall, Braith Harvey, Seamus Jones, Jack Kane, Cooper Lack, Isaac Lyon, Jarod Northey, Adithyan Rajesh, Troy Voyzey and Edward Williams.

14 Girls: Megan Bailey, Hilary Barco, Cheyenne Como, Lexi Daly, Tia Daly, Chloe Debono, Aleah Doran, Charley Fitzgerald, Yasmin Hammond, Tonaya Hyland, Charlotte Lannigan, Emily Marrone, Tahlia Marrone, Adana Physick and Kiera Pizzuto.

15/01: Callum Blyth, Rhys Brownlie, Myles Brunt, Hayli Clarke, Harry Gibson, Alexander Gray, Jasmine Kirin, Kai Mulcahy, William Norton, William Poley, Campbell Warrington, Jaden Wendell, Jeremiah White, Xander Whyte and Brodie Woods.

AAW: Jenna Affleck, Jade Graham, Emmalee Harris, Natasha Harris, Angela Helly, Tara Helly, Bridie Hyland, Claudia Ivankovic, Anna Klein, Laura Klein, Isabelle Redhead, Lauren Rouse-Upjohn, Letia Shiner, Louise Stott, Aimee  Zerbes, and Anneka Zerbes.

The club will hold its presentation day for teams from under-12s to 18s at Shoal Bay Country Club on Sunday, September 16, starting at 9am. The end of season presentation dinner will be held at the Whitesands on Saturday, September 22.

The club will also enter an under-10 team in the Newcastle Football NET competition in 2019.