New committee for Tomaree Prostate Cancer support group

VOLUNTEERS: Secretary Richard Yeomans and president Neville Stanfield.
VOLUNTEERS: Secretary Richard Yeomans and president Neville Stanfield.

There has been a changing of the guard at the Tomaree Prostate Cancer support group, with foundation president Iain Woodhill standing down after giving seven years of tremendous service.

Another foundation member Neville Stanfield was elected new president at the AGM held at Nelson Bay Golf Club last week, while continuing his role as treasurer.

Other committee members to be elected were Richard Yeomans (secretary), John Every (driver coordinator), Barry Elliott (research) and Max Pride (media). Mr Woodhill, who was acknowledged for his tireless contribution as president, will remain on the committee.

The group was formed in 2012 with the primary objective of providing a support forum for men living on the Tomaree peninsula who are affected by prostate cancer, including providing transport to and from their places of treatment. They also develop awareness and educational programs to assist patients and their families.

"Transporting patients to and from treatment has become a major service. Up till June 30 this year there had been close to 3000 trips, involving 228 patients and covering 330,750kms. This would not have been achieved without the dedication and commitment of our volunteer drivers."

Mr Pride said that funding for the group was provided by generous donations from social and community clubs/groups, the Cancer Council and patients' families. "We have also been able to make significant donations."